Posted by: Justine | September 25, 2010

Instead of Typing Something I Made This: A Vlog

And so I made a vlog. Instead of writing a long blog about my writing process, I just made a short vlog about it. But what is a vlog you may ask?

Well a vlog is short for video blogging. It is a form of blogging that uses video as the medium. It can be considered as a form of Internet television.

Yay! I’m on TV now! (Internet television, that is. Fans won’t be trying to grope me anytime soon.)

Entries can be recorded in one take just like mine or cut into multiple parts. It is a very popular category on Youtube, maybe because of the inherent voyeuristic behavior of Internet people.

Vlogs often take advantage of web syndication to allow for the distribution of video over the Internet using RSS or Atom, for automatic aggregation and playback on mobile devices and personal computers (just like a podcast).

So without further ado, here is my crappy short vlog:

I wasn’t joking when I said it was crappy.


Responses

  1. I think a vlog works well for you. Hehe. Although I must say, your long posts are also good reads. 😀 Anyway, I think vlogs would work well for people who prefer a more unique and interactive information sharing. I probably won’t do a vlog anytime soon though. I don’t really feel comfortable being in front of a camera after all. 😀

  2. LOL at a Vlog shot at McDonald’s :)) That wasn’t crappy, Justine. That was hilarious! 🙂 While making a blog, though, I prefer typing it directly on the computer than writing it on a piece of paper. I find it easier that way. However, this is my opinion and I gotta make my own Vlog to tell people that. Haha! 🙂

  3. Justin! Nainggit ako. I want to make my own vlog episode too. I think I will get myself to explore this kind of web logging soon. 🙂

  4. I think vlogs were made by people who either 1) suddenly had a hand sickness that made them completely unable to write or type, and 2) lazy people who can’t think of anymore topics for their blogs. You’re definitely not the former. 😛 Kudos on the hilarious vlog, you got famous! 😀

  5. OMG. I want a vlog too. Hehe. And there I thought vlog is just a slang word for blog.

    I guess vlogs are most useful when you’re content needs to be supported by a motion picture such as those that contain complex instructions.

    We should have known this earlier so that we can all have our vlogs as part of the series.
    Perhaps it could be a part of the blog requirement for future oc152 students. (You might be reading this now sir. But yes, I intended that to sound suggestive.)

  6. *you’re–should be YOUR. oh crap.

  7. I love vlogs more than blogs. they still have the nonverbal aspect that other form of NSM platforms lack.

    And may I just add that vlogs are actually good avenues for organizations to put user’s manuals and troubleshooting guidelines in; because honestly, no one reads manuals nowadays. and I think that would provide us with a greater perspective about using their products.

  8. Wow Justine, are you really that systematic when you write a blog? Ok, I now realize what a messy writer I am. Haha!

    But kudos to trying to vlog. With new social media coming up with all kinds of things everyday, I think that it’s important that we are all willing to try these different gadgets or channels. It’s a good way of knowing which channel is just right for you.


Leave a comment

Categories