Posted by: Justine | September 25, 2010

We Comment, We Like, We Trash Too: Being In A Community

My community of choice.

This is the dictionary definition of a community:

Community

n. (pl. communities)

a group of people holding attitudes or interests in common

For me, a good community exudes the above of course but that they should be tightly knit as to foster a sense of camaraderie but still open enough to not be so exclusive to new comers. Joining an online community can be a good experience that can make you one or more friends along the way.

This is a tale of me being a community member of Destructoid.com, a gaming website. After about two moths reading just the gaming news on Destructoid, I encountered the community blogs or c-blogs for short. After reading the fantastic blogs of the community members, I decided to register on the website. A thing that pulled me in is the great sense of community and the lack of assholes and trolls. Other gaming sites are ruined by these basement dwellers so I’m happy to finally find a suitable community for me.

After I registered, I immediately started commenting. I was like an up-and-coming star community member, I was starting to be recognized as a lead commenter in the comments sections of the site.

I posted my first blog, it was warmly received. Of course it made me happy that people commented because some blogs get no comments. I joined a fanfic contest by a fellow member and I won some quality merchandize that that member sent all the way from the UK. I can’t even believe that he sent it, let alone that I won.

I won almost all of these except the cap. The postmen in the Philippines are crooks.

Those were the good times.

I’ve got a blogs already drafted and ready to post when suddenly, a plague befell me. A plague called academics.

Requirements came like locusts.

Due to this plague, I wasn’t able to log in for a few months. Thankfully, I was cured of this dreaded disease around summer vacation. Hoping for a triumphant return, I started commenting again. But alas, such was the cruel fate that was bestowed upon me. It seems that everyone forgot who I am and I was treated like a random commenter no more conversations with the other members. I persisted and commented and commented until finally someone recognized me. People were starting to make conversations with me again.

Though I did not regain my online reputation entirely, somehow I feel I’m part of the community again. I was having good and insightful conversations with the people again. I feel like we’re friends even though we haven’t seen each other, let alone each other’s real names and faces.

I advise everyone who spends a lot of time on the Internet to join a community. You’ll meet friends who share the same interests and maybe you’ll discover more about your interests and yourself. Trying to be friendly won’t hurt anybody.

Awesome friends.

Responses

  1. Funny pic you got there! 😀

    Before reading your entry, it was Joed’s that I was reading and guess what, it was about online games too! He said that online games have the features of new social media because one can connect, communicate and join a group in it. I haven’t tried to join an online community(as far as I can remember) because I have lots of things to do i.e. the plague you were talking about and I find it hard to maintain the connection to the community. Sure thing though, people who have time and who wants to meet new people while having fun can try to join online communities. Thanks to the Internet, we now have new and different venues to meet new people, friends or life partners (there’s a chance right?!) Haha! 😛

  2. I see. Apparently, you join these communities for the fame, is that it? 😉
    Sad of turn of events, really. That blasted plague that you call as such is sadly, a mandatory aspect of life. Nothing wrong with joining online communities such as this (though I personally have no affinity for such), but you have to learn how to balance things. 🙂 Maybe you’ll become recognized yet again, even twice as before. On the positive side, your post is proof that NSM can answer to the needs of people. Even belongingness.

  3. Amazing, your experience is like a telenovela. It’s like, the prodigal son returning and finding that nothing is the same. Or may it’s like Rip Van Winkle?

    Anyway, I never tried joining communities. But the picture you paint is quite enticing. Although the community memory seems to be pretty faulty if you ask me.

  4. You’re a genius, Justine! Or should I call you Descructoid’s Star and Lead Commenter? Haha. Seriously, this post made me want to be part of an online community, too (But maybe not now. The plague that haunted you during your lovely Destructoid days and which interrupted your rise to stardom is simply penetrating every aspect of our lives now.)

    How you described the feeling of being part of that community, of having friends who you have never met only made me realize the importance of conversations especially in communities. Given that community members usually have no chance to see each other and meet, much of their friendship is rooted on the conversations they have online. And just like you, the likelihood that community members would feel part of that family is directly proportional to the quality of conversations they share with the rest of the community.


Leave a Reply

Categories

