Posted by: Justine | September 25, 2010

My Favorite Band: Arctic Monkeys and Internet Popularity

I first discovered the Arctic Monkeys back in 2006. My taste in music was very different back then I was listening to Linkin Park, Eminem, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and other mainstream artists. I first encountered them in an issue of Q Magazine that came from my uncle in Scotland along with some other magazines like Loaded but I wasn’t interested in lad magazines. In that issue I’ve read that they are the number one artist in Britain, making the fastest selling debut album in British history entitled Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not.

My most favorite album of all time.

At first they were an indie band giving away demos to those who watch them. The fans distributed the demos on the Internet, with the band’s approval because the more people listening to their songs, the better. Humorously, they admitted that they don’t know how to upload songs on the Internet so it’s ok to them. People were soon singing along to their songs. Some fans eventually made them a MySpace profile which became very popular. Soon their popularity grew across Britain and a bidding was by the record companies started, each eager to sign them because they were selling out shows left and right – based just on their popularity. The band eventually signed with Domino Records – a record company with a hands-off approach – and the rest, as they say, is rock and roll history. Many bands soon followed suit, also gaining popularity on MySpace and crossing over to the mainstream. The popularity of MySpace back then helped many artists to launch their careers such as Fall Out Boy, Panic at the Disco, The Academy Is, and many more.

MySpace was revolutionary back then. Was.

I was very intrigued by the article so I got their album and gave it a listen. Lo and behold – there was my favorite album of all time. Every song was single-worthy, every song tells a story, every song has a fantastic intro, every song laced with Alex Turner’s (the vocalist) lovely accent. It was the album that instantly changed my taste in music. Now I’m a fan of British Rock and I discovered that the British rock scene is pretty much the most robust rock scene in the world, with indies getting attention that they deserve from the press. The album and the band were my gateway drugs to the other bands that I came to love The Libertines, Keane, Muse, Bloc Party,Β The Killers, Radiohead, The Kooks, and the last Shadow Puppets (a side project of Alex Turner). They were the most influential band in my life. Almost everything I do can be set to a song of theirs. Whether I’m rushing something (A Certain Romance), riding a bus (Despair in the Departure Lounge), being frustrated (Crying Lightning), in an argument (Mardy Bum), feeling naughty (The Bad Thing), irritated by conyo people (Fake Tales of San Francisco), and many more that I won’t mention for the sake of brevity. I will always be a fan because they consistently deliver, album after album, song by song.

I have listened to most of these because of the Arctic Monkeys. That Taylor Swift album cover just unfortunately exists in this image.

Their songs will always play in the back of my head during times that they are applicable, essentially the soundtrack of my life.

Responses

  1. Well, as they say, everyone’s on the Internet nowadays. πŸ™‚ This reminds me of those singers who got a lot of attention through their posting of songs – original and covers – in the SNS and other websites with a lot of traffic. It operates a lot like the traditional promotions of music since both targets a vast audience pool.

    But I see that the key difference is how they are able to tap people (specific groups with specific tastes in music) who have capabilities to spread the music of the band for them – all because of the Internet. I’ve certainly found more interesting music online and from non-mainstream bands. πŸ™‚

  2. If I’d credit you for something, it’s introducing me to Indie British Rock. Thank you so much, half of my life is complete. πŸ˜€
    It’s so cliche, but SNS has benefited a lot of people, those in the majority, especially those in the minority. They now have a “voice” and an instant means of propagating the talents that they have (in relation to musicians and artists). Given that, anybody can get famous nowadays via the Internet. It’s good to know that some meaningful people are getting the attention and fame they deserve. πŸ™‚

    *goes off to download Arctic Monkeys’ second album*

  3. I never knew the story of how the Arctic Monkeys broke into the music scene and became as big as they are now. Really interesting. Pre-Facebook era, MySpace was the place to be. I, unfortunately, was not in on that trend. (I was sticking to my multiply account back then, I think)
    This was probably back when artists were still starting to promote themselves online which seems to be the trend now.

    On a side note, I also have artists who comprise the soundtrack of my life. It’s nice to know that you do too. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

