Posted by: Justine | August 5, 2010

My First Shooter: Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

[ Online gaming has exploded in the last few years because of the success of Xbox Live and the proliferation of faster internet connections. Online gaming has become a way for me to keep in touch with my cousins and friends in a way that other forms of social media can’t provide. This blog is about a game that I still play up to now because of its online multiplayer mode and because it is just an awesome game. ]

It was late 2008. I have just acquired a brand new gaming PC. I still have no idea as to what I’m going to play aside from the PC ports of big budget console hands that I wanted to play. Coincidentally, my cousin has a copy of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. Since I got nothing else to play, I installed the game. I just installed it just for the sake of having a game on my PC that is not named Solitaire. I wasn’t really fond of the first person shooter genre I remember as a lie, I became nauseated whenever I try to play the very first Unreal Tournament game. It was very different from the console games that I play. Back then, I consider Counter Strike as a mindless shooting game where you just kill and kill (the actions of the players themselves diedo’t do anything much to change my perception). It also didn’t help that I didn’t have a computer and that I only play MMOs in gaming cafes (Ragnarok Online was very big back then). Oh well, back to the present. After successfully installing the game, I immediately started the campaign (I have people only play the multiplayer mode). Of course at first I was easy target for the enemy terrorists since I still haven’t got acquainted with the mouse and keyboard combo and because things were too frantic for me. I wasn’t expecting much but boy, I was in for the ride of my life!

Looks pretty badass to me.

Having no background in somewhat story-focused FPSs, I was pleasantly surprised that a story can be told effectively in-game and without cinematic cutscenes. Having to experience things for yourself is better than a wall of text or a non-interactive cutscene. The story was pretty enthralling and the characters were very memorable, especially Captain Price. Ahhhh, Captain Price, you and your magnificent moustache and your charming British accent. He is the classic example of the battle-hardened old man who can still kick ass.

Such a magnificent mustache, isn't it?

Almost every mission in the campaign was exciting, partly because I have no basis of comparison but mostly because they truly are action-packed. A memorable mission for me was when you get to play as Captain Price in a sniping mission. It was so bloody difficult for someone totally new to the FPS scene (also true for everyone I knew who have played the game) and all because he has to carry his injured superior though an army of radical ultranationalists. But the most memorable scene for me was the mission where you are caught in a nuclear explosion. It was really memorable for me because you did in one of your supposed glory moments -rescuing an injured ally from a downed helicopter- and the events after that wherein you can see everything is destroyed and there is a mushroom cloud in the middle of the city before your eventual death. It was really different because I haven’t played a game before where a playable character dies halfway through the game, it was really a total shock for me. After putting bullets in Zakhaev’s (the leader of the Russian ultranationalists) cranium and finishing the campaign, I was still hungry for more.

I was really surprised when I was suddenly put into a mission after the credits finished rolling. “Mile High Club” was probably the most tense of all the missions in Call of Duty 4 because any mistake can instantly mean game over and there is a very short time limit but I finished it the very first time I tried without dying because I was so pumped up after finishing the campaign. Today, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare still holds a special place in my heart. Even though I got into other shooters like Left 4 Dead, Crysis, Counter Strike: Source, and other big names (heck, I even played Halo 1’s seven year old PC port just to see if it was as good as it was pumped up to be – sadly it didn’t age well), I still go back to Modern Warfare’s campaign and a few rounds of multiplayer here and there. Why? Because it was my first FPS and our “firsts” always hold special places in our hearts.

Oscar Mike! Some other military jargon involving letters from the alphabet! Onwards!

Responses

  1. I must confess: I cannot relate to the dedication of all the boys who are tied to these online games. Even my dearest brother is starting to learn to play Counterstrike. I fear for his studies. 😦 But on a non-serious note, I did play an online game. Or maybe more than one. Once. Due to curiosity and the cute graphics. Shall I mention their names? Granado Espada and Audition. *hides her face in embarrassment* I guess you could say the social part of those games (messaging other players, forming groups etc) didn’t work on me. Too introverted back then.

    I wonder. I suddenly feel an urge to check those gaming accounts again. 😀

  2. Hello comrade. Alas, more common ground. And more games for me to beat you at, haha.

    What I love about this game is the intensity of online multiplayer. Which not only gives you the action, but allows you to share it with your friends and family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

